Hello from your Media Specialist!
I am happy to work with you in any way that will help you! Some ways I've worked with colleagues in the past are:
My time is split between the HS and district Media work. Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays are the days I will be focused on my High School work, but can be flexible to meet your needs.
I look forward to our collaboration!
Jenn Samec (jennifer.samec@wayzataschools.org)
Bring your class to the Media Center for a different learning location, to work collaboratively with your Media Specialist and/or Tech Integrationist. Areas can be reserved on MRBS.
Create
The east side of the Media Center is ready for a variety of collaborative and creative activities. Come use the green screen, the SMART panel, as well as flexible table, booth, and high table seating.
Investigate
The west side of the Media Center is furnished with a Smart panel and tables that can be configured for presentations, group work, or whatever you might have in mind.
*Note: MRBS can only be accessed when you are on the school's network. You cannot access it from home (unless, of course, you live at school).
Book Checkout
Would you like to bring students in to check out books (either textbooks or books from our collection)? There is a space on MRBS to let us know to expect you.
Book Talks
Schedule with Jenn Samec if you would like book talks for your students or would like her to be on hand to help with book recommendations. Do you have a specific genre or theme in mind? Book talks can be customized!
Book Collections
Search our library print collection here. If you would like a book list made for your students, we can do that, too.
eBooks
MackinViA is where our ebooks are hosted. Log in with your school credentials. Download the app and read on your iPad too!
If you are looking for a book or article that is not available locally or through our databases, we can probably get it for you through our vast network of public and college libraries. You can request these through our Interlibrary Loan page.
We have a great partnership with our local Hennepin County Libraries. They will help us gather resources and also have additional databases for our students to use.
Teachers check textbooks in and out using an app on the iPad. Please remind students that they are responsible for the copy that is checked out to them.
Here are instructions for checking books in and out.
Our students and staff have access to many very helpful databases. These are all organized on our Trojan Media Center webpage. Check out the pages that have been created for different subjects and courses.
Your Media Specialist is happy to:
* Note: Some of the subscription databases require passwords for use at home. These passwords are listed on the Media Center Canvas page.
Access to our digital video collection is through Digital Campus - Swank (found in MyApps). You can show these movies in class or assign them to students within your Canvas course. Movies are licensed to us by the year. As you search for titles, you will see that they are listed as Available or you will notice a Request button to request that a title be added to our collection. Requests usually take about 24 hours before they are available.
Here are the instructions for how to use our Digital Campus movies with your students.
Students who meet the eligibility requirements can access audiobooks through Learning Ally. Instructions for setting a student up for access can be found here. Share these instructions with students to help them get started.
Use this spreadsheet to help you know which textbooks are available. This document is a work in progress, so please let us know of any updates or changes that need to be made.
@whstmc
Find issues of our Potty PD here. These include clickable links to the featured resources - just download the PDF to be able to click on the QR codes.