WHS Media & Technology: Trojan Media Center Home: English 9 Informative Speech

Use these databases to find incredible, credible sources

*** You will need passwords to access our subscription resources from home. Passwords can be found in the TMC Canvas Course.

As you find articles, look for

Explora is a database by EBSCO that contains:

Gale in Context is a database by Gale that contains:

SIRS Issues Researcher database by ProQuest that:

Focuses on current events and issues in the news
Contains articles and information to support both sides of an issue
Use the All Leading Issues list to help you find a topic - sort by trending topics or A-Z
SIRS password needed for remote access

Click here for a video tour of the resources on this page.

Words to Know

Cite - What you do to let your readers know where you find your information. A citation includes the title and author of what you have read and also where you found it.
Credible / Credibility - Believable or trustworthy
Database - A way to search many different published sources at one time (magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, books)
Full-Text - An article that has all the words are there for you to read. A summary would just describe what the article is about, full-text lets you read the whole thing yourself.
Limiters - Things you can select when searching a database to narrow down or limit your search results.
Remote Access - When you are not at school and want to use the school databases you are accessing them remotely. You will need the passwords on the TMC Canvas Course page for this.

Searching Hints

Don't use too many words when you search. Pick out one or two main words to search.
Let the articles you find help you find more. Look for keywords in articles. Sometimes you can even click on them to find more.
Let the databases do the hard work for you. Use the built-in tools to search the right dates, to find articles that are easier to read, and to do your source citations.