WHS Media & Technology: Trojan Media Center Home: EAPPSSA

Start With These Resources

You will need passwords to access our subscription resources from home. Passwords can be found in the TMC Canvas Course.

SIRS Issues Researcher Database This link opens in a new window
This is probably the very best place to start your project. Click on the "Leading Issues" drop-down and select All Leading Issues. Then sort by A to Z and browse the list of Leading Issues to get topic ideas. The Critical Questions listed there can be helpful to you as you work on creating your research question. Besides the articles and references sources listed, don't forget about the images and infographics for later in your project. ProQuest password needed for home access.
Student Resources in Context This link opens in a new window
For best results, search for broader topics here rather than detailed issues. Scroll to the bottom of a topic page to find links ot related websites - might be a good place to find an advocacy group.

USA.gov
Search government documents, research, and websites. You will need a government source for your project. This is a great place to find one.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world. Are you looking for poll results, charts, or statistics? This is a great spot to find that.
GovTrack.us
This website is easy to search and can help you track the progress of a bill that has been introduced. You can sign up for email alerts when action is taken on a bill you are following. Plus, the website gives you the proper citation to use!

As You Dig Deeper, Expand Your Searching

You will need passwords to access our subscription resources from home. Passwords can be found in the TMC Canvas Course.

For EBSCO and Gale, be sure to use the limiters to narrow down your search results. You can do the following by using limiters.

Change the date range
Select full text articles
Find your Academic Journal source

*All EBSCO databases and ebooks This link opens in a new window
NOTE: THE PASSWORD FOR ACCESS FROM HOME CHANGED ON 9/19/23. CHECK THE MEDIA CENTER CANVAS PAGE FOR THE NEW PASSWORD. Search all 21 databases. Click the select all button in the top left corner or click on an individual database name. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. EBSCO password needed for Remote Access.
*Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Check the Select All Databases box to search thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Gale password needed for remote access.
Newsstand Complete (Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from hundreds of papers including the Minneapolis Star Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, Sioux Falls Argus Leader, St. Cloud Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and many more. ProQuest password need for remote access.

A-Z Online Resources
Follow this link for a complete list of our online Media Center resources. You'll see the ones listed above, plus many more.
USAFacts.org
USAFacts is a new data-driven portrait of the American population, our government’s finances, and government’s impact on society.

In-Person Help

Media Center Hours

Monday	7:30am - 4:00pm
Tuesday	7:30am - 4:00pm
Wednesday	7:30am - 4:00pm
Thursday	7:30am - 4:00pm
Friday	7:30am - 4:00pm

Email: jennifer.samec@wayzataschools.org

Search the Online Catalog

Search in the box above or click here to open Destiny Discover.

Helpful Hints for Finding Your Advocacy Group

Looking for your advocacy group source? Here are some helpful hints!

Have you looked at eBooks?

We have eBooks in MackinVIA on the following topics - and more:

Drug Legalization
Cybersecurity
Gun Control
Biomedical Ethics
Climate Change
Medical Marijuana
Immigration Policy
Drinking Age
Capital Punishment
Gay Rights
Renewable Energy
Animal Experimentation
Stem Cell Research
Universal Healthcare

*Pro Tip - Search for Thinking Critically in MackinVIA to see a series of books we have that present essays on both sides of current topics. I know, it's amost too good to be true!

Search Our ebook Collection

Download the MackinVIA app, too!

Help and Organization

Here are some additional websites that you may find helpful in your research.

Purdue Owl APA Formatting and Style Guide
APA Style Guide. Use this page to find examples of how to properly cite a variety of sources.
AskMN
Connect to a librarian for 24/7 help. They can be especially helpful if you are having trouble navigating the databases or finding a credible source of information. Help is given via an online chat.
Homework Help
Click on the Get Help from a Tutor Online button and then the Live Tutoring button to get online tutoring. You can use this site for other subjects, too.
Wayzata Bring Your Own Device Application
If you have a laptop that you would like to bring to school to use for research and writing, please fill out this Google form. Devices must be manually added to our network, so plan in advance as it will take typically 24 hours for your laptop to be recognized.

Have an organization plan as you start your research.

Keep your articles together in a folder in Google Drive.
Start keeping track of your citations right away.
Plan your printing in advance!