WHS Media & Technology: Trojan Media Center Home: Mythology

Resources in our Media Center Databases

Passwords for home access can be picked up in the Trojan Media Center or found by logging in to the TMC Canvas Course.

Britannica School Edition Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Search elementary, middle and high school levels of information in this encyclopedia. Password required for remote access.
Encyclopedia of Creation Myths This link opens in a new window
This ebook gives summaries of a wide variety of creation myths. Use the index to help navigate through the book.
U.X.L. Encyclopedia of World Mythology This link opens in a new window
This is the electronic version of the set of reference books we have in the Media Center. It is organized in alphabetical order within five volumes.

Use these world mythology terms to help you get started.

Click on picture to enlarge.

Myth Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
This page is laid out in alphabetical order like a print encyclopedia. It also has a search box you can use. When using the search box, ignore the ads on the left side of the page and look at the results on the right to find the best article for your research.
The Big Myth This link opens in a new window
While some of this website is only for subscribers, the free portions have nice summaries of creation myths. You can download a PDF and read the story rather than watching the video, if you prefer.
Encyclopedia Mythica This link opens in a new window
Searchable online encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion.
Cherokee Creation Myth This link opens in a new window
Iroquois Creation Myth This link opens in a new window
Mayan Creation Myth This link opens in a new window
Apache Creation Myth This link opens in a new window

Search in the box above or click here to open Destiny Discover.

Download the MackinVIA app, too!

UXL Encyclopedia of World Mythology
ISBN: 9781414430300
Publication Date: 2008-09-23
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend by Anthony S. Mercatante; James R. Dow (Revised by)
ISBN: 0816047081
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
A Dictionary of Creation Myths by David Adams Leeming; Margaret Adams Leeming (As told to)
ISBN: 0195102754
Publication Date: 1996-01-25
Don't Know Much about Mythology by Kenneth C. Davis
ISBN: 9780060932572
Publication Date: 2006-08-15
Illustrated Dictionary of Mythology by Philip Wilkinson; Neil Philip (Contribution by)
ISBN: 078943413x
Publication Date: 1998-12-07
World Mythology by Roy Willis; Robert Walter (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0805049134
Publication Date: 1996-10-15
The Encyclopedia of Myths and Legends by Arthur Cotterell
ISBN: 0028608518
Publication Date: 1995-08-01